I’ve Got My Knapsack on My Back, and I’m Headed to Norway

“Oh, I love to go a wandering..” My mom and dad would not stop singing “The Happy Wander” when I got home after finals. They said I couldn’t go to Europe without knowing the words. It’s safe to say that I will be humming (because no one wants to hear me sing) this song as I wander and study in Norway. After spending most of my spring semester comprehending the fact that I would be spending my summer in Europe, the time has come for me to board the plane and set off on a new adventure. June 14th was a big day for the Fisher/Carson family with my sister’s graduation party (the food was great, by the way) and my going overseas for the summer. Needless to say, things have been exciting, nerve-wracking, and wonderful. Sitting at my gate, I can finally catch a breath and try to organize my thoughts.

I’ve been thinking a lot about what it means to be a Peace Scholar, especially when I try to explain what I am doing as a Peace Scholar. My working definition so far:

Being a Peace Scholar means to have an open mind and to be able to jump into the unknown with confidence. A Peace Scholar seeks opportunities to learn about themselves and the world, and gain insight into the lives of others. A Peace Scholar listens to and honors the opinions and values of others while staying true to their own.

I am excited to see where I wander this summer as I study in Oslo, “come join my happy song!”

http://youtu.be/ruIt_iSqLXI

20140614-182702-66422888.jpg

One thought on “I’ve Got My Knapsack on My Back, and I’m Headed to Norway

Leave a Reply

